Participating Team members

Dr Cori Wielenga

Dr Cori Wielenga is a senior postdoctoral fellow at the Centre for the Study of Governance Innovation and the Department of Political Sciences at the University of Pretoria. Her research has focused on Rwanda’s gacaca courts, South Africa’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission, and comparative projects on the informal justice systems in Burundi, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Namibia.

Dr Chris Nshimbi

Dr Chris Nshimbi is a Department of Science and Technology-National Research Foundation (DST-NRF) Research Fellow and Deputy Director in the Centre for the Study of Governance Innovation, University of Pretoria. His current research focuses on informal cross-border trade in eastern and southern Africa, regional (labour) migration, and the prospects of regional transitional justice and reconciliation policy in Africa.

Prof Christopher Isike

Prof Christopher Isike is a Professor of African Politics, African Development and International Relations at the University of Pretoria, South Africa. He is the current Vice President (2016–18) of the South African Association of Political Studies (SAAPS) and an Executive Council Member of the international Political Science Association (IPSA).

Work Packages


Consolidation of available research and materials on resilience in peacebuilding


Designing and writing materials to establish future grant applications


Lessons identified, lessons learned, and best practices, to be fed into future grant applications


Dissemination and communication